There are three types of users in Google Drive: Owner, Editor, and Viewer. Though many users are able to edit and view a single document, there can only be one Owner at a time. Here are two ways in which you can transfer ownership of Google Docs in the Drive.
Transfer Ownership of Single Documents in Google Drive
Transfer Ownership of All Documents in Google Drive
If you are an Administrator, you can transfer ownership of all documents in the Drive from one user in your domain to another. Being able to transfer the ownership of all documents can be useful if the original owner is leaving the organization. Once a user leaves the domain, their documents cannot be transferred. If this happens, Administrators are able to restore the account for five days and transfer the documents that way.
The newly transferred documents are then automatically organized in a single new folder, titled with the previous owner’s email address, in the new owner’s Drive. The original owner will still maintain editing privileges until their account is deleted or their edit permissions are revoked. Unfortunately, the Admin Console does not provide a way to change document owners, collaborators, and sharing settings individually or in bulk.
Last updated Mar 28, 2022
Applies to: Domain